Soapy Time with Anti Acne Soaps.

Standard

I am a sucker for anti-acne stuff. Being struck with acne at the age of 13 does that to you! I have tried so many lotions, potions, concoctions etc etc etc things that I could write volumes of books about it.

Needless to say, I get intrigued  whenever I see any anti-acne stuff. Like today when I went to the local pharmacy. I saw rows of soaps neatly lined up with the glass partition open as if sending me out an invite through the airwaves!

I do suffer from body acne every now and then, so these will do good I guess. I have also used medicated soaps  (not these and different formulations) in the past with mixed results. I use these medicated soaps on face as well; causes dryness post usage as expected, but nothing a good non-comedogenic moisturizer cannot handle.

I saw around 6 types of soaps for acne with different formulations. Two I did not purchase because they had only Triclosan as the main ingredient and I get resistant to it after about 2 weeks of continued usage.

I got 3 soaps and here they are :

From top to bottom:

1. ACNESTAR 2.5% soap containing 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide as the active agent.
INR43.50 (USD ~0.98) for a 75gms pack.
I am hoping that in spite of the cheesy name (acne-“star”….seriously!!) it works well. After all, Benzoyl Peroxide is something that   many acne sufferers swear by.

2. DERMADEW ACNE SOAP.
Contains a whole list of stuff (Triclosan, Zinc, Salicylic acid , Willow extract, Tea tree oil, Olive oil, Aloe, Glycerine etc)
INR 115 (USD ~2.59) for a 75gms pack.
The icy blue colour of the inner pack is appealing. I hope the soap is of the same cool colour!

3. PAKNET Bar, Anti acne oil control formula.
Contains Sulphonated Surfactant Blend 6.38% as the key ingredient.
INR 69 (USD ~1.55) for 100gms.
I am really wondering what is the story behind the name of this soap!

I still have to finish Cetaphil face wash. Will start with these all one by one once I am done with Cetaphil.

Will use them for a decent period and then write about them.

Thanks.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: 水楊酸 « Community Acupuncture ::: Making Health Affordable

Leave a Reply

